Monday, September 9, 2019


Mata Ganga Khalsa College and Mata Ganga Khalsa
Collegiate Sen.Sec.School Kottan (Ldh.) (managed by Shiromani Gurdwara Parbhandak
Committee, Sri Amritsar) organized the freshers party to welcome the new students of all
streams in the campus. The programme was designed for Arts, Commerce, Science &
Computer Science students. It was time to rock and roll. Students grooved to loud Punjabi
and Bollyood Music. The girls were dressed in fabulous one piece dresses. Ramp show was
also organized for boys and girls to search hidden beauty of the new comers. Warm
welcome was extended to the freshers by their seniors. Ms.Mandeep Kaur of BCA.I was
adjudged as Sohni Mutiyar (College), Miss Suneha of 10+1 Commerce was adjudged as
Sohni Mutiyar (School). The title of Sohna Sardar, Talented Sardar, Confident Sardar and
Sohni Pag wala Sardar was bagged by Mr.Baljit Singh of PGDCA, Mr.Sukhkaran Singh of
B.A.I, Mr.Satnam Singh of B.Com.I and Mr.Harman Singh of B.A.I respectively.
Off-stage items were also organized to keep the students rooted to their traditions and
culture. Muskan Arora of B.A.III bagged the 1
st prize in Mehandi Competition, Iqbal Kaur of
B.Sc.II got the 1
st prize for ‘Naala Bunna’, Shehneela of M.A.II Economics got the 1
st prize
for ‘Chhikoo Bunna’, Navdeep Kaur B.Sc.II (FD) bagged the 1
st prize for ‘Guddian Patole’,
Jaspreet Kaur B.Sc.III (FD) got the 1st prize in Khiddon Making’.
Giddha competition was also organized . Parampreet Kaur of B.Sc.III was declared the Best
Dancer (College) and Amandeep Kaur 10+2 Commerce was declared the Best Dancer
On the occasion, Principal Dr.Kuldeep Kaur Dhaliwal welcomed the freshers and wished
them a glorious academic journey. She said that SGPC is bound to provide quality education
to rural girl students and she asked the students to make the best use of the facilities made
available to them.Such programmes help in developing confidence and grooming the
personality of the students. She assured them that such programmes will be organized for the
overall development of our students.
S.Joginder Singh Oberio (Vice President Local College Management Committee) and
S.Raghbir Singh Saharanmajra (Add. Secretary, Local College Management Committee),
graced the occasion with their presence.